2012 champions crowned at Backyard BBQ Border War competition in Waycross

Photo by NBBQN Staff
Pictured with Exchange Club President Chris Tatum (left), are the teams who were recognized as champions from the county they represented in the 2012 BBQ Border War. County winners from the event held June 16th at the Exchange Club Fairgrounds are listed above.  Grand Champion Chief Cook Levon Doggett and wife are pictured just to the right of President Tatum.

By NBBQN Staff

Father’s Day weekend was much the same in Waycross, Ga., when it came to the weather forecast - hot! However, this year the high was a pleasant 86 degrees, which was a cooling off period for the area after last year’s 98-degree heat at the same event. The second annual event was also free of fires burning in the area of the Okefenokee Swamp and everyone agreed the smoke produced by the barbecue smokers is much better.

The Exchange Club of Waycross welcomed backyard barbecue teams from every adjoining county of Ware County with the exception of Pierce who was not represented this year. The Exchange Club of Waycross cooked over 200 Boston Butts with customers picking them up at the event after advance ticket sales. All proceeds from both events will be used to assist with local Exchange Club charities.

A good time was enjoyed by those attending - especially teams and judges. Judges were chosen from those attending on Saturday, most calling in advance to reserve their seats, and all left full and excited about judging the contest. There was no admission charge to the public and Exchange Club members manned a booth with Pulled Pork Sandwiches and Cokes. Those picking up Boston Butts or just checking out the event enjoyed Kris Pierce as he entertained and played recorded music throughout the day! The winners are listed below and note that Charlton County claims the 2012 bragging rights with Hot Dawgs Bar-be-que, headed up by Chief Cook Levon Doggett of Tifton. He replaces the Ware County team of Okefenokee Smokers from last year as Border War Grand Champion. Another BBQ Border War will be declared in 2013 so look for the dates in the spring of next year.

Winners from 2012 BBQ Border War
Hot Dawgs Bar-be-que, Charlton County

It Don’t Matter, Coffee County

ATKINSON: Skipper Brothers Redneck BBQ
BACON:  Captain Jack’s Wench Crew
CHARLTON:  Hot Dawg’s Bar-be-que
COFFEE: It Don’t Matter
PIERCE: No Team Represented
WARE: Beginner’s Luck BBQ

1) Hot Dawg’s Bar-be-que
2) Triple S BBQ
3) Bubba Ben’s Bar-B-Que
4) Captain Jack’s Wench Crew
5) Slim Jim’s BBQ

1) Triple S BBQ
2) It Don’t Matter
3) Captain Jack’s Wench Crew
4) Hot Dawg’s Bar-be-que
5) Beginner’s Luck BBQ

1) Hot Dawg’s Bar-be-que
2) Skipper Brothers Redneck BBQ
3) Beginner’s Luck BBQ
4) Captain Jack’s Wench Crew
5) It Don’t Matter


Website design by Wyoming Network, Inc.